Sustainability, Energy and Resiliency Committee (SERC)

Mission Statement

The mission of the Sustainability, Energy and Resiliency Committee (SERC) is to promote a resilient environment and community.  SERC focuses on practical applications that enhance the sustainability of the city’s municipal operations, businesses, and residents by:

  • Advocating for the environmental well-being of all of the city’s inhabitants
  • Developing long-term strategic planning focused on creating a more resilient community
  • Implementing effective city-wide energy management including applications of renewable and energy efficient technologies and operations
  • Achieving 100% clean energy procurement for the city’s municipal operations - to reduce the city’s greenhouse gas emissions that contribute to climate change
  • Leveraging with the private sector and other groups to accomplish our goals and to help the city’s businesses and residents reduce their carbon footprint

This commitee is formally known as the Renewable Energy Task Force (RETF)

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Jenna L. Ide Director of Capital Projects & Municipal Operations 978-619-5699

Board Members

Name Title
John Hayes, Ph.D Chair
Jeff Cohen Vice - Chair
Richard Nye Member
Gail Kubik Member
Chris Cantone Member
Phil Koch Member
Megan Riccardi City Council Liaison
Megan Riccardi
Douglas Bowker Member