No Place for Hate Committee

Mission Statement

The No Place for Hate Committee of the City of Salem is dedicated to promoting acceptance of diversity and combating discrimination. We are dedicated to mobilizing citizens to challenge bigotry and to promote a prejudice-free community in which all people are respected, understood, and appreciated for their differences.

Our primary goal is to be a resource to the City of Salem by providing support and education on diversity issues. We seek to protect the promise of equal justice and civil rights for all members of our community.

Discrimination Claims

For claims of discrimination, the No Place for Hate Committee can assist residents with referrals to the appropriate investigative and enforcement agencies. Depending on the nature of the claim, the Committee can connect residents with agents of the Massachusetts Commission Against Discrimination (MCAD) or the Salem Licensing Board to investigate instances of discrimination and enforce compliance with federal, state and local statutes on the basis of age, ancestory, color, disability, family status, gender identity or expression, marital status, military status, national origin, race, religion, sex or sexual orientation in the matters of housing, employment, education, municipal services, contracts, purchasing or public accommodations. For more information, please contact the Committee's Mayor's Office Liaison Laura Assade at (978) 619-5601 or by e-mail.

Staff Contacts

Name Phone
Laura Assade (978) 619-5601

Board Members

Name Title
Lucy Corchado Member, Past Treasurer/Clerk
Laura Assade Mayor's Office Liaison
Jeff Cohen Co-Chair
Fara Wolfson Co-Chair
Rev. Joe Amico Religious Community Liaison
Graysen Ocasio Member
Scott Weisberg Clerk
Emily Ullman Liaison - Salem School Department
Shimon Avish Treasurer
Captain Fred Ryan Liaison - Salem Police Department
Conrad Prosniewski Liaison - City Council
Sean Bennet EdD Salem State Liaison
Alphonse Wright Member
Gail Cantor Member
Nicole Lashomb Member
Sam Lim Member